BTEC Level 3 National Diploma in Computing (Pearson 603/0445/5)

What does this course involve?

BTEC Computing introduces students to multiple Computer Science disciplines, providing both theoretical knowledge and practical skills in a wide range of specialisms. Throughout the course we cover Principles of Programming, Fundamentals of Computer Systems, Project Management, IT Security and Encryption, Games Design, Web Development, The Impact of Computing and Business applications of Social Media. Each unit is linked to an industry or academic partner who provide additional insight and knowledge in the application of the skills taught through seminars, workshops, and visits.

The combination of examinations and portfolios (coursework) also exposes students to a wide breadth of skills outside of the subject specialism including research techniques, analysis, report writing, academic referencing and problem solving. Making the Level 3 BTEC Computing course the ideal foundation whether the students wish to pursue further study, apprenticeships or work in the IT/Technology sector and is highly regarded by universities.

How is this course assessed?

This course is the equivalent of two A Levels.
There are eight units, six of which are mandatory.

There are three externally assessed exams:

Unit 1: Principles of Computer Science.
Unit 2: Fundamentals of Computer Systems.
Unit 3: Project Management.

There are five internally assessed portfolio units:

Unit 7: IT System Security and Encryption.
Unit 8: Business Applications of Social Media.
Unit 9: The Impact of Computing.
Unit 14: Computer Games Development.
Unit 15: Website Development.


The department actively engages students in projects, competitions and visits including Digital Divide project, EGX Games Expo, Computing History Museum, University of Suffolk, FXP Games Competition and Erasmus + project. Seminars and workshops include MASS Cyber Security Specialists and Lilac James Web Services.